Home page > 2. News from around the world > Malaysian Socialist Party 6 released
Save this article in PDF Print article Printable version

Malaysian Socialist Party 6 released

Friday 5 August 2011

On 29 July 2011, six members of the Malaysian Socialist Party who had been detained since July 2 under an "Emergency Ordinance" on undefined charges were released frome Jinjang police station, following public outrage and sustained protests over their arbitrary detention.

The six Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) members - Choo Chon Kai, Sarat Babu, M Sarasvathy, M Sukumaran, A Letchumanan and Sungai Siput parliamentarian Dr Jeyakumar Devaraj - were initially detained on suspicion of planning to wage war against the King. It was learnt that the charge was however changed several times, at one point accusing them of being ringleaders of the Bersih 2.0 rally on July 9.

The six have welcomed the support they received from those that campaigned against their detention, pointing out that: "We were detained when Malaysian police attempted to stop a huge rally for electoral reform on 9 July 2011, but they failed. We would like to thank all the comrades who have given your support and call for our release."

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0